Forestry in South Africa
Thursday, August 11, 2022

click here to see
all logo's

Links : Forest Certification

previous page

Forest Stewardship Council (FSC)
FSC is an international network to promote responsible management of the world's problems created by bad forestry practices and rewards good forest management.

International Organization for Standardization
ISO is a global network identifying what International Standards are required by business, government and society. It develops these standards in partnership with these sectors that will put them to use, adopts them by transparent procedures based on national input and delivers them to be implemented worldwide.

ISO 14001
ISO 14001 is part of the ISO 14000 family of standards on environmental management developed to assist implementation of actions supportive to sustainable development. ISO 14001 is a model used for implementing and Environmental Management System (EMS) which provides a framework for meeting environmental challenges.

SGS is the world’s leading inspection, verification, testing and certification company. Recognized as the global benchmark for quality and integrity, we employ over 50 000 people and operate a network of more than 1 000 offices and laboratories around the world.

South African Bureau of Standards (SABS)
SABS is a nationally and internationally recognized standardization body providing testing and certification of (inter alia) timber, paper and paper-based products.

South African Forestry Assurance Scheme (SAFAS)

South Africa is developing a South African National Forestry Certification standard as part of the South African Forestry Assurance Scheme (SAFAS) which will seek endorsement by the Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC).