Welcome To Forestry South Africa
Friday, November 15, 2019

click here to see
all logo's

About Us : Membership

previous page
Almost 90% of all timber growers have representation through FSA. FSA represents and interacts on behalf of the Industry through a host of committees and bodies both within and outside the Industry in order to effectively promote its members’ interests and those of the Industry in general. For example:

NON-FSA Industry Committees:

FSA plays an important support role to a number of critical Industry institutions, and members and staff are well represented on these institutions’ committees and structures, for example:

  • Institute of Commercial Forestry Research (ICFR
  • Forestry and Agriculture Biotechnology Institute (FABI)
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)
  • Forest Industries Education & Training Authority (FIETA)
  • National Forestry Advisory Council (NFAC)
  • Forestry Charter Council

NON-Industry Affiliated Committees:

Many of the issues and activities that FSA is involved in are dealt with through committees and structures established by non-forestry industry organisations. All however impact and influence forestry activities and FSA attempts to ensure that it has a presence and is represented on relevant structures. For example:

  • AgriSA’s Commodity Chamber
  • Kwanalu’s Property Rates Task Team
  • Agrarian Reform Committee
  • Working for Water
  • Working for Wetlands
  • Working on Fire
  • Water Research Commission
  • Provincial Afforestation Licence Assessment Advisory Committees (LAAC’s)
  • Catchment Management Agencies (CMA’s)
  • SANBI Grasslands Biodiversity Forum
  • Industrial Development Corporation

Co-Operation with other Industry Organisations:

FSA co-operates with other industry organisations, especially recently with regards to the forestry sector transformation Charter. These include:

  • Paper Manufacturers Association of SA (PAMSA)
  • Sawmilling South Africa (SSA)
  • SA Wood Preservers Association (SAWPA)
  • SA Forestry Contractors Association (SAFCA)

Co-Operation with Government Departments:

FSA interacts a great deal with various Government Departments but especially with the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF). A full list appears hereunder:
  • Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF)
  • Department of Environmental Affairs.(DEA)
  • Department of Water Affairs DWA)
  • Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Land Affairs. (DCGTA)
  • Department of Rural Development and Land Reform. (DRDLR)
  • Department Trade and Industry (DTI)
  • Department of Public Enterprises (DPE)
  • Department of Transport (DOT)
  • Provincial Governments

International Co-Operation:

FSA sits on a number of global forums. These include:
  • UN’s FAO Advisory Committee on Paper and Wood Products (FAO ACPWP)
  • International Council of Forest and Paper Associations (ICFPA)
  • Forestry Stewardship Council (FSC)
  • International Institute for Environmental and Development (IIED)

click here to see
all logo's